APF club wins national women’s cricket title

APF club wins national women’s cricket title

27 July, Kathmandu:

The Armed Police Force (APF) club has won the national women’s cricket tournament.

In the final match held at TU Cricket Ground in Kirtipur Tuesday, APF defeated eastern region by 10 runs to clinch the title. Put into bat, APF posted a total of 64 runs at the loss of one wicket in the stipulated 10 overs.
In reply, eastern regional could make only 54 runs at the loss of 5 wickets. The match was reduced by 10 overs after being affected by rain.

Along with the winner’s trophy, APF walked home with Rs. 100,000 in cash prize. Eastern region pocketed Rs. 50,000. APF’s Sarita Magar was adjudged the ‘player of the tournament’.

The tournament also served as a selection for the 24 cricketers to be part of the Nepali national cricket team, that will play the Asia region qualifying championship for the ICC women’s world cup to be held later this year. RSS

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker